[SLL] Best list of RBLs?

John Aldrich JAldrich at covista.com
Mon May 16 10:28:30 PDT 2005


Notify the SpamCop deputies at deputies at admin.spamcop.net as Lusers are not
supposed to report spam sent to a mailing list. SpamCop feels that's the job
of the list admin.

Also, ONE report isn't going to get a server black-listed. It's going to
take a LOT of reports over a short period of time to get you reported. 
	John
	Happy SpamCop user

-----Original Message-----
From: Bill Campbell [mailto:bill at celestial.com]
Sent: Monday, May 16, 2005 1:11 PM
To: linux-list at ssc.com
Subject: Re: [SLL] Best list of RBLs?


On Mon, May 16, 2005, Glenn Stone wrote:
>On Mon, May 16, 2005 at 09:05:44AM -0400, John Aldrich wrote:
>>I like SpamCop's BL. To my way of thinking, they tend not to unjustly
>>penalize folks who forward chain letters and stuff to their friends and
>>colleagues. It's pretty much ONLY 0wn3d machines and real spammers! See
>>http://www.spamcop.net
>
>Any idea of SpamCop's false positive rate?  It appears an innocent server
>can be joe-jobbed if it is set up to bounce after the SMTP transaction is
>complete... I think I shall go disable this.  Not that I've seen the phony
>bounce thing in a while... 

SpamCop's FP rate is pretty high, largely because they take
reports from clueless Lusers too seriously.  I've seen them block
one of our servers that handles technical mailing lists because
one user reported a single spam that made its way through our
rather draconian spam filters to the list (no spam filters are
perfect, and the wetware moderator may occassionally make a
mistake as well :-).

Bill
--
INTERNET:   bill at Celestial.COM  Bill Campbell; Celestial Software LLC
UUCP:               camco!bill  PO Box 820; 6641 E. Mercer Way
FAX:            (206) 232-9186  Mercer Island, WA 98040-0820; (206) 236-1676
URL: http://www.celestial.com/

Windows is a computer virus with a user interface!!



More information about the linux-list mailing list